

May 24, 2014

## **Club Update**

The WCSTA Annual General Meeting was held on May 7, 2014 in Carp. Agenda items included president's report, adoption of new bylaws, elections, and review of financials. Many new faces attended the AGM, and it was great to see more people out and ready to get involved with the club. Thank you to all who joined us.

At the beginning of the meeting, Greg Veldhuizen, our president for the past 10 years, formally announced his resignation. Over Greg's tenure as President many great accomplishments have been achieved, including addressing the issues of a financially struggling club and a groomer fleet that had become old and unreliable. Under Greg's leadership, and with diligent efforts brought forth by many, the club has now become much more financially stable, has a fleet of more reliable groomers, and wider, better groomed trails than ever before. Of late, though, Greg had become frustrated by some members of the past board and was not enjoying being a volunteer any longer, and has stated that after 10 years a change in leadership would be good for the Club. We wish to extend sincere gratitude to Greg for his many contributions to the Club, his great level of dedication and commitment, and we wish him well. Hopefully now he will now have more time to ride!

We would also like to extend very special thanks to Steve and Corey Burgess, who have stepped away from the board of directors this year, after many years of involvement in the club. The Burgess family has put in thousands of volunteer hours over the years, whether out tending to the trails, grooming or in the boardroom. So please, on behalf of the members of WCSTA, accept our sincere thanks.

To our new directors, thank you, and welcome! We look forward to working together in the coming months to continue to make snowmobiling in West Carleton even more fun! The Board of Directors elected by Members for the 2014-2015 season are as follow:

Ted Kelly (President)
Ian Torrey (Vice President)
Jason Dods (Secretary)
Eric Mesdag (Treasurer)
Mike Asquini (Permit Coordinator)
Paul Asmis
Adam Braun
Rodney Brenton
Mark Broders
Scott Hamilton
Mick Lacharity
Ryan Oakley